May 5, 2013


Indianapolis, Ind. – The 2013 Northeast-10 Conference champion Le Moyne College women's lacrosse team has been selected to the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championships for the third straight year, as announced by the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Selection Committee on Sunday night on The fourth-ranked and second-seeded Dolphins will host fifth-ranked and third seeded Adelphi University in the NCAA Division II First Round on Saturday, May 11 at 12:00 p.m. The contest will be the first NCAA Championships game hosted by the Dolphins in the program's 20-year history.

Le Moyne enters the tournament with a record of 16-2, while the Panthers are 17-2. The match-up will be the third of the season for the two programs and the second in a span of seven days as the Dolphins recorded an 8-6 win over the Panthers on Sunday in the Northeast-10 Conference Championship game.

Defending National Champion and the only remaining undefeated team LIU Post (formerly C.W. Post) earned the top seed in the North Region and will host ninth-ranked and fourth-seeded Stonehill College on Saturday in the first round. The winners of Saturday's North Region contests will meet on Saturday, May 18 in the NCAA Semifinals at Mustang Stadium on the campus of Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Maryland. In the South Region, second-ranked Limestone College, which suffered its only loss of the season at the hands of the Dolphins on March 4, earned the top seed and will host fourth-seeded Pfeiffer, which handed the Dolphins one of their two losses on March 6. In the other South Region first-round match-up, second-seeded Rollins College will host third-seeded Lock Haven University. The Limestone/Pfeiffer winner will square off with the Rollins/Lock Haven winner on May 18. The North and South champions will then battle for the National Championship on Sunday, May 19 at Stevenson.

2013 NCAA Division II Women's Lacrosse Championships
North Region

1. LIU Post (17-0)
2. Le Moyne (16-2)
3. Adelphi (17-2)
4. Stonehill (13-6)

South Region

1. Limestone (18-1)
2. Rollins (15-1)
3. Lock Haven (15-2)
4. Pfeiffer (14-2)


May 11 – First Round games (at campus sites)
May 18 – NCAA Semifinals – Mustang Stadium – Stevenson University – Owings Mills, Md.
May 19 – NCAA Championship Game – Mustang Stadium – Stevenson University – Owings Mills, Md.

Le Moyne NCAA Tournament History

2002 – NCAA First Round – Princeton – L, 3-25
2003 – NCAA First Round – Princeton – L, 1-19
2007 – NCAA First Round – Duke – L, 8-23
2011 – NCAA First Round – Dowling – W, 18-9
2011 – NCAA Semifinals – Adelphi – 13-18
2012 – NCAA Semifinals – C.W. Post – L, 10-15