May 9, 2013


South Easton, Mass. – Le Moyne College senior Scott Thieke (Jamesville, N.Y./Jamesville-DeWitt) has been named the 2012-13 Northeast-10 Conference Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award recipient for men's swimming and diving, as announced by the conference office.

Thieke, who is the third straight Dolphin to win the award after former teammate Drew Acquaviva was the recipient each of the last two years, is the fifth Le Moyne student-athlete to earn the honor. A Psychology and Criminal Justice major with a 3.709 grade point average, Thieke led the Dolphins to a third-place finish at the Northeast-10 Conference Championship, an improvement of one spot from last year. A three-time Northeast-10 Conference All-Academic selection, Thieke placed second in the 1,650-yard freestyle at the Championship with a career-best time of 16:44.03, while finishing fifth in the 500-yard freestyle (4:48.52) and 400-yard IM (4:14.34) after posting career-best times  in the prelims of both events. A seven-time winner in dual-meet action, Thieke was a member of the second-place 800-yard freestyle relay team, the third-place 200-yard freestyle relay team and the fifth-place 400-yard freestyle relay team at the NE-10 Championship.

The Northeast-10 Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence awards are chosen by a vote of a committee of athletic administrators and Faculty Athletic Representatives (FAR). The Northeast-10 will honor one student-athlete per conference-sponsored sport each year. There will be a total of 23 Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award winners during the course of the academic year. The conference will announce the spring sport winners in June.

To be eligible for the Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence award, the student-athlete must have completed at least two consecutive semesters of full-time enrollment at their current institution and at least two years of athletic eligibility at any institution. In addition, the student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.30.

Le Moyne Sport Excellence Award Winners
Drew Acquaviva – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2010-11
Jack Venditti – Men's Lacrosse – Spring 2011
Drew Acquaviva – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2011-12
Josh Klepfer – Men's Lacrosse – Spring 2012
Scott Thieke – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2012-13