July 9, 2013


South Easton, Mass. – Le Moyne College senior Josh Klepfer (Binghamton, N.Y./Chenango Valley) has been named the recipient of the 2013 Northeast-10 Conference Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award for men's lacrosse, as announced by the conference office on Tuesday morning.

Klepfer, a defender for NCAA Division II Men's Lacrosse National Champions and the Northeast-10 Conference Champions, earns his second consecutive Sport Excellence honors and the program's third straight accolades after former teammate Jack Venditti '11 received the award in 2011. An Accounting major with a 3.94 GPA, which tied for the highest mark among the conference's 23 Sport Excellence winners, Klepfer started all 20 games for a defense that allowed a nation-best 5.55 goals per game. Klepfer, who was selected to his third straight Northeast-10 Academic All-Conference team last week, caused a career-best and team-leading 21 turnovers and scooped up a career-high 31 ground balls, the second-most among defenders on the team. He caused multiple turnovers in six games, including a career high-tying three in the National Championship game win over Mercyhurst, while recording multiple ground balls in eight games, including all three NCAA Tournament wins.

The conference's Sport Excellence Awards recognize student-athletes that have excelled both on the field of play and in the classroom. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed at least two consecutive semesters of full-time enrollment at their current institution, two total years of athletic eligibility, and maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of a 3.30.

2013 Northeast-10 Spring Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Winners
Baseball – Joe Mantoni, Merrimack
Golf – Matt Michel, Bentley
Men's Lacrosse - Josh Klepfer, Le Moyne

Women's Lacrosse – Kayla Green, Stonehill
Softball – Emily Dorko, Adelphi
Men's Tennis - Andreas Hammar, Adelphi
Women's Tennis – Maria Toft, Adelphi
Men's Outdoor Track & Field – John Drago, Bentley
Women's Outdoor Track & Field – Amy Varsell, Bentley

Le Moyne Sport Excellence Award Winners

Drew Acquaviva – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2010-11
Jack Venditti – Men's Lacrosse – Spring 2011
Drew Acquaviva – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2011-12
Josh Klepfer – Men's Lacrosse – Spring 2012
Scott Thieke – Swimming & Diving – Winter 2012-13
Josh Klepfer – Men's Lacrosse – Spring 2013