April 30, 2013


South Easton, Mass. – Le Moyne College senior attackman Tyler Prevost (Watertown, N.Y./Immaculate Heart/Onondaga C.C.) earned his second straight first team honors as the Northeast-10 Conference announced its end of season awards and all-conference teams on Tuesday morning. The award winners and all-conference teams were voted upon by the league's 12 head coaches, who could not vote for their own players.

Le Moyne, which went 9-2 in conference action and earned the third seed in the Northeast-10 Championships, placed three players on the first team, two players on the second team and one player on the all-rookie team. Joining Prevost on the first team is junior midfielder Andrew Chadderdon (Auburn, N.Y./Auburn) and sophomore defenseman Gerald O'Brien (Binghamton, N.Y./Seton Catholic). Redshirt senior long-stick midfielder Brian Craig (Brewerton, N.Y./Central Square) and senior defenseman Alex Cameron-Carter (Manlius, N.Y./Fayetteville-Manlius) were selected to the second team, while freshman midfielder/attackman Mike Jenkins (Clifton Park, N.Y./Shenendehowa) earned a spot on the all-rookie team.

Prevost, a first team selection in each of his two years with the program, leads the team in scoring with 45 points (tied for sixth in NE-10) and assists with a conference-best 29 assists, while adding 16 goals, the fifth-most on the team. A starter in all 14 games, Prevost has three extra-man goals (5th on the team), two game-winning goals (tied for 2nd on the team) and has picked up 18 ground balls. He recorded at least one point in the first 13 games of the season to extend his streak to 22 consecutive games with a point. He has at least two points in 11 games, including a career-high six points against American International (March 3) and Roberts Wesleyan (March 6), while recording multiple goals in four games, including four against American International. He dished out a career-high five assists in wins over Roberts Wesleyan and Pace (March 19).

Chadderdon, selected to the second team as a sophomore, is third on the team in points with 35 and goals with 20, while ranking fourth on the team in assists with 15. He is tied for the team lead in extra-man goals with five (tied for 10th in NE-10), while scoring one game-winning goal and picking up 18 ground balls. After going scoreless in the first game of the season, Chadderdon has a point in each of the last 13 games of the campaign.  He's recorded multiple points in 10 games, including four straight games with at least three points to close out the regular season, while netting multiple goals in seven games, including a season-high three goals on two occasions, the last of which was Saturday in a 15-4 win over #9 Saint Michael's.

O'Brien, an all-rookie team selection last year, has started all 14 games for the nation's best defense. He leads the team in caused turnovers with 21, tied for the seventh-most in the conference this season and tied for the fourth-most in a single-season in the program's history. He has scooped up 29 ground balls on the year, the fourth-most on the team and the most by Dolphin not involved with faceoffs. He caused a career-high four turnovers against then-#3 Limestone on March 16 and matched that total the following Saturday against Bentley. In those same two games, he picked up a career-best five ground balls.

Craig, who was the first player in the league's history selected as a first team long-stick midfielder when he earned the honor in 2011, served as the team's starting long-stick midfielder in 13 games after missing last year due to injury. He is second on the team in caused turnovers with 15, while ranking third on the squad in ground balls with 32. In a 10-9 overtime loss at #2 Adelphi on April 6, Craig registered a career-high seven ground balls. In the Limestone victory, he caused a season-high four turnovers.

Cameron-Carter has been honored by the conference in each of his three years with the program after earning second team accolades in 2011 and first team honors last year. A starter in all 14 games, Cameron-Carter is the anchor for a defense that allows just 4.64 goals per game, the best in the country by two goals. Tasked with marking the opponent's top attackman, Cameron-Carter has caused 13 turnovers, the fifth-most on the team, while picking up 24 ground balls, the sixth-most on the team. On Saturday, he tied his career-high with three caused turnovers, while he posted a season-best five ground balls against Limestone.

Jenkins, the third Dolphin named to the all-rookie team (O'Brien 2012, Kam Bumpus 2011), has started three games in his first collegiate season. He ranks fourth on the team in points with 28 and third in assists with 18 (eighth in NE-10), while adding 10 goals. His 18 assists are the most by a Le Moyne freshman since Mike McDonald '08 posted 18 in 2005. He has multiple points in seven games, including a season-high five points against Roberts Wesleyan, while scoring two goals in four games, the last of which came on Saturday against Saint Michael's.

2013 Northeast-10 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference

Player of the Year:Corey Lunney, Merrimack
Goalkeeper of the Year: Connor Reagan, Merrimack
Defensive Player of the Year:Brandon Waiter, Merrimack
Rookie of the Year: Salvatore Tuttle, Adelphi
Coach of the Year:Pat Ivory, Saint Michael's

First Team
Attack Tyler Prevost (Le Moyne), Corey Lunney (Merrimack), Greg Melaugh (Merrimack)

Midfield Joe Celano (Adelphi), Andrew Chadderdon (Le Moyne), Rob Murray (So. New Hampshire)

Long Stick Midfielder – Kevin Kennedy (Adelphi)

Defense – Jeff Melsopp (Adelphi), Gerald O'Brien (Le Moyne), Brandon Waiter (Merrimack)

Specialist – Greg Puskuldjian (Adelphi)

Goalkeeper – Connor Reagan (Merrimack)

Second Team
Attack Nick Watson (Adelphi), Matt Gebhardt  (Pace), Marty Vanzo (Saint Michael's)

Midfield Mike Perdie (Merrimack), Andrew Messner (Saint Anselm), Max Zuccarini (Saint Michael's)

Long Stick Midfielder – Brian Craig (Le Moyne)

Defense – Dan Gryszko (American Int'l), Alex Cameron-Carter (Le Moyne), Jake Files (Saint Rose)

Specialist – Patrick Coskren (Merrimack)

Goalkeeper – Eric Janssen (Adelphi)

All-Rookie Team 
Sal Tuttle (Adelphi), Nick Guarino (Assumption), Matt Brigham (Bentley), Joey Lefebvre (Bentley), Casey Burnett (Franklin Pierce), Mike Jenkins (Le Moyne), Ryan Poirier (Merrimack), Matt Cossidente Pace), Ben Warren (Saint Anselm), Justin Golec (Saint Rose), Robert Primo (Saint Rose), Cameron Joyce (So. New Hampshire)