February 11, 2013


South Easton, Mass. – The Le Moyne College men's lacrosse team has been selected to win its sixth straight Northeast-10 Conference regular season championship, as voted upon by the league's 12 head coaches and announced by the conference office on Monday.

Le Moyne, which won the regular season title for the 12th time in 13 years last season en route to its 10th conference championship game victory, received nine of the 12 first-place votes to claim the top spot in the poll with 119 points. Merrimack, which has appeared in the last four NE-10 championship games (1-3) and fell to the Dolphins, 10-7, in last year's game, picked up a pair of first-place votes to edge Adelphi for second place. The Warriors earned 108 points, while the Panthers, who received the final first-place vote, tallied 106 points to land in third place.

Saint Michael's was selected to finish in fourth place for the second straight year with 87 points. Bentley was picked fifth with 76 points, while Saint Anselm, which finished fifth a year ago, was picked to round out the expected playoff field after receiving 69 points.

Second-year program and conference-newcomer Saint Rose landed in seventh place with 60 points, while Franklin Pierce placed eighth with 46 points. Pace and Southern New Hampshire tied for ninth place with 41 points, while Assumption ranked 11th with 28 points and American International rounded out the poll with 11 points.

Le Moyne, which finished the 2012 season with a 17-1 record and advancing to the NCAA Semifinals for the 10th time in 11 years, returns 32 letterwinners and seven starters for 2013. Senior goalkeeper Jeff White (Buffalo, N.Y./Canisius HS) and senior defenseman Alex Cameron-Carter (Manlius, N.Y./Fayetteville-Manlius) were named to the Inside Lacrosse/Face-Off Yearbook preseason All-America First Team. Senior attackman Tyler Prevost (Watertown, N.Y./Immaculate Heart/Onondaga C.C.) and senior defenseman Josh Klepfer (Binghamton, N.Y./Chenango Valley) were selected to the second team, while redshirt senior long-stick midfielder Brian Craig (Brewerton, N.Y./Paul V. Moore), junior face-off specialist Kam Bumpus (Marshfield, Mass./Needham/Bridgton Academy) and junior midfielder Andrew Chadderdon (Auburn, N.Y./Auburn) were honorable mention selections.

The Dolphins, who posted an undefeated conference record (10-0) last year for the 12th time in 13 years, open the season against Chestnut Hill, which is ranked ninth in the preseason USILA Coaches poll, on Saturday, Feb. 23 at 2:00 p.m. The six-team Northeast-10 Championships begin on Tuesday, April 30 with the semifinals following on May 3 and the finals on May 5.


2013 Northeast-10 Conference Men's Lacrosse Preseason Poll

1. Le Moyne (9) – 119, 2. Merrimack (2) – 108, 3. Adelphi (1) – 106, 4. Saint Michael's – 87, 5. Bentley – 76, 6. Saint Anselm – 69, 7. Saint Rose – 60, 8. Franklin Pierce – 46, T9. Pace – 41, T9. Southern New Hampshire 41, 11. Assumption – 28, 12. American Int'l – 11.
( ) – Indicates number of first-place votes