January 30, 2014


South Easton, Mass. – The Le Moyne College baseball team has been selected to finish second in the Northeast-10 Conference Southwest Division standings, as voted on by the conference's 15 head coaches and announced by the conference office on Thursday morning.

The University of New Haven (34-16, 20-9 NE-10), which captured a share of the Southwest Division regular season title last year en route to winning the Northeast-10 Conference Championship, received seven of the 15 first-place and 83 total points to claim the Southwest Division's top spot in the preseason poll. The Dolphins (25-24, 16-11 NE-10), who advanced to the Northeast-10 Conference Championship semifinals last season, were tabbed first on five ballots and finished in second place with 76 points. Pace University (33-17, 20-9 NE-10), which shared the Southwest Division regular season title with New Haven last year, garnered two first-place votes and 69 points to place third, while Southern Connecticut State University (20-21-1, 10-17 NE-10) received the last first-place vote and 50 points to finish fourth and round out the teams expected to make the conference tournament. Adelphi University (23-25-1, 13-16 NE-10), which finished fourth last year, was two points behind Southern Connecticut to land in fifth, while American International College (21-19, 12-15 NE-10) and The College of Saint Rose (10-39, 7-22 NE-10) closed out the poll with 29 and 16 points, respectively.

In the Northeast Division, Franklin Pierce University claimed the top spot with 104 total points. The Ravens (37-19, 22-6 NE-10), who won the NCAA East Region Championship last year, were selected first on 13 of the 15 ballots. Southern New Hampshire University (35-19, 16-12 NE-10), which won the 2012 East Region Championship, garnered the other two first-place votes and 93 total points to rank second. Merrimack College (30-19, 17-12 NE-10), which fell to New Haven in last year's conference title game, placed third with 71 points, while Stonehill College (23-22, 11-16 NE-10) picked up 63 points to complete the teams predicted to make the conference tournament. Bentley University (27-22, 17-12 NE-10) placed fifth with 60 points, while Saint Anselm College (18-28-1, 13-16 NE-10) was tabbed sixth with 42 points. Assumption College (13-33, 9-20 NE-10) and Saint Michael's College (12-29, 8-21 NE-10) round out the poll with 25 and 18 points, respectively.

The 2014 Northeast-10 Conference Championship will feature the top four teams from each division, with opening round action (1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3 matchups from each division) taking place on Tuesday, May 6. The four winners advance to the four-team, double-elimination portion of the tournament, hosted by the highest remaining seed from the Northeast Division, which will run from Thursday, May 8 to Saturday, May 10.

Le Moyne, which returns 15 letterwinners, including three starting position players and two starting pitchers, opens the 2014 season on Friday, February 14 at Young Harris College (Young Harris, Georgia) at 3:00 p.m. The Dolphins open their home slate with a crossover doubleheader against Saint Anselm College on March 22 at 1:00 p.m. and begin divisional play at Southern Connecticut State on March 29 at 12:00 p.m.