May 8, 2013


On Tuesday, May 7th, the Le Moyne College Athletic Department celebrated the outstanding achievements of its over 300 student-athletes with the annual Student-Athlete Awards Ceremony. Held in the Henninger Athletic Center, this celebration recognized the achievements of student-athletes on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

 Following a mass at the Panasci Family Chapel, Mark Larson, Sports Director at YNN, served as the Master of Ceremonies.

Prior to the day's first awards, Matt Bassett, Le Moyne College Assistant Vice President and Director of Athletics, presented the Upstate Challenge trophy to Le Moyne SAAC President Josh Klepfer to accept on behalf of all Le Moyne College student-athletes. In it second year, the Dolphins claimed the rivalry series in 2012-13 by a score of 8-6.

The first set of awards were presented to students in the area of academic excellence. For the sixth year, the James F. Welter Merit Awards were given out to student-athletes with the top-ten cumulative GPA’s, having been enrolled in two or more semesters. All recipients this year had a GPA ranging from a 3.861 to a perfect 4.0.

James F. Welter Academic Merit Awards

Christie Morano
Women's Soccer
Emma D'Ambro
Women's Cross Country
Alex Marple
Women's Basketball
Cathryn Mahoney
Women's Tennis
Shane Evans
Men's Tennis

Beth Fabian

Rebecca Wolf
Sarah Connelly
Women's Swimming & Diving
Josh Klepfer
Men's Lacrosse
Madison Hahesy
Women's Baskeball

Leadership & Service Award

The Leadership & Service Awards were given to senior Julianne Shelton of the women’s golf team and junior Michael Marrero of the men’s cross country  team. This award is presented to student-athletes for their commitment to the community and Le Moyne’s ideals of leadership and service.

Director's Award

This year’s Director’s Award was presented by Athletic Director Matt Bassett to Carol Welch-Jones ’93, a former softball letterwinner and member of the Gold Wave Hall of Fame.  In her role as President of the Dolphin Athletic Asosciation, Welch-Jones has helped to raise over $200,000 in support of Le Moyne College student-athletes. The award is given to a member of the Le Moyne community that contributes and lends support to the program far beyond the call of duty.

Team Most Valuable Player Awards

Ryan Davis
Gamal Mohamed
Men's Basketball
Maggie Brown
Women's Basketball
Nick Cutter
Men's Cross Country  
Emma D'Ambro
Women's Cross Country
Dan Molter
Men's Golf
Emilly Stickel
Women's Golf
Jeff White
Men's Lacrosse
Kathleen Conese
Women's Lacrosse
Matt Silva
Men's Soccer
Christie Morano
Women's Soccer
Sarah Harrison
Scott Thieke
Men's Swimming & Diving
Tara O'Donnell
Women's Swimming & Diving
Blaine Drake
Men's Tennis
Rebecca Black
Women's Tennis
Bethany Fabian

Athletes of the Year

After each of the 17 programs presented their Most Valuable Player awards, the Athlete of the Year Awards were presented to senior Jeff White of the men’s lacrosse team and junior Kathleen Conese of the women’s lacrosse team.

In leading the Dolphins to a regular season NE-10 title, Conese, a junior captain, was named the Northeast-10 Conference Player of the Year. A unanimous first-team all-conference performer, Conese helped the Dolphins to their first Northeast-10 Conference Tournament championship with an 8-6 victory over Adelphi. The victory helped secure a first round home game in the NCAA tournament.

Jeff White is the anchor to the nation’s top defense, this senior led the country in save percentage and goals against average. The reigning Division II National Goalie of the Year, he was named the NE-10 Championships Most Outstanding Player by recording 32 saves in three games and leading the Dolphins to the NE-10 title on Sunday.

Rev. J.J. O'Brien, S.J. Senior Athlete Achievement Award

The Rev. J.J. O’Brien Senior Athlete Achievement Award is the most prestigious honor given to a Le Moyne student-athlete, presented annually to the student-athlete who was achieved unparalleled levels of success in areas of athletics, academics, leadership and service during their career at Le Moyne.

Christie Morano of the women’s soccer team was the day’s first honoree.  Morano was only the

second player in program history to lead the team in scoring all four seasons and was the first player to earn All-Region honors three times. A four-time All-Northeast-10 Conference selection, this forward was named the NE-10 Rookie of the Year in her freshman campaign. She finished her career ranking third in the program in goals scored and is one of only 30 players in NE-10 history to record 100 career points. Twice named a Le Moyne College Scholar Athlete, she was honored by the conference in being named to the All-Academic Team on three occasions.

The second recipient was Josh Klepfer of the men’s lacrosse team. A senior captain, this defender helped the Dolphins to their second consecutive NE-10 Championship and was named to the All-Championships team. Klepfer was honored by the NE-10 as the Men’s Lacrosse Sport Excellence Award Winner in 2012 and was named to the NE-10 All-Academic team each of his last two seasons. He is one of only three lacrosse players in the country named an Academic All-American and earned honorable mention All-American honors last year. Off the field, he is a two-year President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.